About SERC

Research Labs

Public Programs

Visiting SERC

Opportunities

People & Contacts

For the Media

Publications


 
Departmental Directory

Administrative  |  Education  |  Professional Training
Information Technology  |  Facilities  |  Security


Science
Animal Plant Interaction    |  Benthic Ecology    |  Biogeochemistry  
CO2 Lab    |  Ecological Modeling    |  Fish & Invertebrate Ecology  
Forest Ecology    |  Marine & Estuarine Ecology    |  Marine Biodiversity Lab  
Marine Invasions Research Lab    |  Microbial Ecology    |  Molecular Ecology  
Nutrient Lab    |  Nutritional Ecology    |  Photobiology & Solar Radiation  
Phytoplankton Ecology Lab    |  Plant Ecology    |  Protistan Ecology Lab  
Quantitative Ecology    |  Terrestrial Ecology    |  Trace Metal Biogeochem  


Administrative

Alison Cawood
Citizen Science Coordinator;
443-482-2271
cawooda@si.edu

Robert Gallagher
Executive Officer;
443-482-2336
gallagherr@si.edu

Dan Gustafson
Professional Training Coordinator;
443-482-2217
gustafsond@si.edu

Jeanine Young
Financial Administrator;
443-482-2202
youngjm@si.edu

Nicole Campbell
Office Assistant;
443-482-2206
campbelln@si.edu

Lauren Nuzzi
Office Assistant;
443-482-2387
kippl@si.edu

Mary Zevely
Grants Adminstrator;
443-482-2317
zevelym@si.edu

Hannah (Liza) Hamill
Safety Officer;
443-482-2422
hamillL@si.edu

Kathleen (Kathie) Suite
Travel Manager;
443-482-2201
suiteka@si.edu

Kristen Minogue
Science Writer/Media Relations;
443-482-2325
minoguek@si.edu

Damika Baker
Development Assistant;
443-482-2293
bakerd@si.edu

Sue Zwicker
Librarian;
202.633.1675
zwickers@si.edu

Back to top


Education

A. Mark Haddon
Director of Education;
443-482-2218
haddonm@si.edu

Wendy Van Norden
School Programs/Summer Camp Director;
443-482-2216
vannordenw@si.edu

Back to top


Professional Training


Information Technology

Jon Auerbach
Computer Specialist;
443-482-2204
auerbachj@si.edu

Back to top


Facilities

Daren Kennedy
Zone Manager;
443-482-2463
kennedyd@si.edu

Mark Proctor
OFMR Building Manager;


Kevin Beck
Maintenance Worker Helper;
443-482-2459
beckk@si.edu

Tony Dove
Horticulturist;
443-482-2230
doveto@si.edu

Larry Fleming
Mechanic;
443-482-2340
flemingl@si.edu

Evan Goodhue
Management Support Assistant;
443-482-2466
goodhuee@si.edu

William Guy
Maintenance Worker;
guyw@si.edu

Raymond Jones
Construction Representative;
443-482-2268
jonesra@si.edu

Mark Juckett
Pipe Fitter;
juckettm@si.edu

Keeoda Patterson
Maintenance Worker Helper;
pattersonk@si.edu

William (Jake) Taylor
Maintenance Mechanic Leader;
443-482-2260
taylorja@si.edu

Chip Thomas
USRO;
443-482-2278
thomasch@si.edu

Dennis Deboy
Building Service Leader;
443-482-2456
deboyd@si.edu

Artis Togan
Building Service Worker;
443-482-3104
togana@si.edu

Back to top


Security

Francine Pettiford
Assistant Security Manager;
443 482 2328


Marvin Dorsey
Security Lieutenant;
443-482-2442
dorseym@si.edu

Rodney Barnes
Security Sergeant;
443-482-2298
barnesre@si.edu

Brian Koelsch
Security Sergeant;
443-482-2298
koelschb@si.edu

Robert Padgett
Security Sergeant;
443-482-2298
padgettr@si.edu

Dan Boothe
Security Corporal;
443-482-2298
boothed@si.edu

Larry Howard
Security Corporal;
443-482-2298
howardl@si.edu

Ronald Howlin
Security Corporal;
443-482-2298
howlinr@si.edu

Valerie Jefferson
Security Corporal;
443-482-2298
jeffersonl@si.edu

Larry Mason
Security Corporal;
443-482-2298
masonl@si.edu

Andre Ross
Security Corporal;
443-482-2298
rossa@si.edu

Linda Sepelak
Security Corporal;
443-482-2298
sepelakl@si.edu

David Butler
Security Officer;
443-482-2298
butlerd@si.edu

Gilbert Ligason
Security Officer;
443-482-2298
ligasong@si.edu

Marcellus Lucas
Security Officer;
443-482-2298
lucasm@si.edu

Gregory May
Security Officer;
443-482-2298
mayg@si.edu

Timothy Powell
Security Officer;
443-482-2298
powellti@si.edu

Back to top


Animal Plant Interaction

Candy Feller
Ecologist
443-482-2269
felleri@si.edu

Lisa Duckett
Research Staff
43482-2421
duckettl@si.edu

Lorae' Simpson
Biological Science Technician
772-462-0974
simpsonl@si.edu

Kyle Cavanaugh
Post Doctoral Fellow
cavanaughk@si.edu

Emily Dangremond
Post Doctoral Fellow
dangremonde@si.edu

Back to top


Benthic Ecology

Richard Osman
Marine Ecologist
443-482-2213
osmanr@si.edu

Sam Benson
Biological Science Technician / Dive Officer / Boat Captain
443-482-2454
bensons@si.edu

Dean Janiak
Head Biological Science Technician
443-482-2267
janiakd@si.edu

Laura Patrick
Research Staff
4434822228
patrickl@si.edu

Back to top


Biogeochemistry

Patrick Megonigal
Deputy Director, Biogeochemist
443-482-2346
megonigalp@si.edu

James Duls
Head Hydrologic Technician
443-482-2276
dulsj@si.edu

Andrew Peresta
Biological Science Technician
perestaa@si.edu

Gary Peresta
Environmental Engineer
410-867-3589
perestag@si.edu

William Teasley
Research Staff
teasleyw@si.edu

Blanca Bernal
Post Doctoral Fellow
443-482-2355
bernalb@si.edu

Sunghyun Kim
Post Doctoral Fellow
skim@si.edu

Meng Lu
Post Doctoral Fellow
443-482-2475
lum@si.edu

Justin Meschter
Graduate Fellow
meschterj@si.edu

Scott Pitz
Graduate Student
pitzs@si.edu

Back to top


CO2 Lab

Bert Drake
Emeritus Scientist
drakeb@si.edu

Back to top


Ecological Modeling

Donald E. Weller
Quantitative Ecologist
443-482-2214
wellerd@si.edu

Christopher Patrick
Ecologist
443-482-2315
patrickc@si.edu

Meghan Williams
Ecologist
443-482-2212
williamsme@si.edu

Yougqia Xia
Visiting Scientist


Back to top


Fish & Invertebrate Ecology

Anson Hines
Director and Marine Ecologist
443-482-2208
hinesa@si.edu

Robert Aguilar
Biologist
443-482-2436
aguilarr@si.edu

Michael Goodison
Biologist/Boat Captain
443-482-2431
goodisonm@si.edu

Margaret Kramer
Head Biological Science Technician
443-482-2434
kramerm@si.edu

Kimberly Richie
Research Staff
443-482-2386
richiek@si.edu

Matthew Ogburn
Post Doctoral Fellow
443-482-2203
ogburnm@si.edu

Back to top


Forest Ecology

Geoffrey Parker
Ecologist
443-482-2210
parkerg@si.edu

Back to top


Marine & Estuarine Ecology

Denise Breitburg
Ecologist
443-482-2308
breitburgd@si.edu

Rebecca Burrell
Head Biological Science Technician
443-482-2332
burrellr@si.edu

Ashley Collier
Research Staff
colliera@si.edu

Keira Heggie
Biological Science Lab Technician
443-482-2383
heggiek@si.edu

William McBurney
Research Staff
mcburneyw@si.edu

Heather Soulen
Biological Science Technician
443-482-2381
soulenh@si.edu

Seth Miller
Post Doctoral Fellow
millerseth@si.edu

Andrew Keppel
Graduate Student
443-482-2384
keppela@si.edu

Back to top


Marine Biodiversity Lab

Emmett Duffy
Director, Tennenbaum Marine Observatories Network
202-633-9072
duffye@si.edu

Back to top


Marine Invasions Research Lab

Gregory Ruiz
Zoologist
443-482-2227
ruizg@si.edu

A. Whitman Miller
Ecologist: Marine Invasions Research Lab, Program Coordinator: National Ballast Information Clearinghouse
443-482-2439
millerw@si.edu

Ashley Arnwine
Biological Research Technician
443-482-2478
arnwinea@si.edu

Eric Bah
Biological ScienceTechnician
443-482-2469
bahe@si.edu

Arianne Balsom
Research Staff
443-482-2405
balsoma@si.edu

Lina Ceballos
Research Staff
415-435-3528
ceballosl@si.edu

Andrew Chang
Ecologist
530-400-9410
changal@si.edu

Ian Davidson
Ecologist
davidsoni@si.edu
443-482-2374

Ruth DiMaria
Research Staff
443-482-2473
dimariar@si.edu

Laura Falsone
Management Support Specialist
443-482-2324
falsonel@si.edu

Paul Fofonoff
Biological Sci. Technician
443-482-2337
fofonoffp@si.edu

Stacey Havard
Biologist
443-482-2486
havards@si.edu

Tami Huber
Biological Science Lab Technician
443-482-2437
hubert@si.edu

Karl Klug
Information Technology Specialist
klugk@si.edu

Kristen Larson
Biological Science Lab Technician
443-482-2309
larsonk@si.edu

Michelle Marraffini
Research Staff
marraffinim@si.edu

Linda McCann
Biological Science Technician
415-435-3528
mccannl@si.edu

Mark Minton
Ecologist
443-482-2307
mintonm@si.edu

Timothy Mullady
Biological Science Technician
443-482-2465
mulladyt@si.edu

Monaca Noble
Public Relations Coordinator
443-482-2467
noblem@si.edu

Yichen Qian
Office Aide


Michele Repetto
Biological Science Technician
443-482-2354
repettom@si.edu

Amanda C. Reynolds
Biological Science Technician
443-482-2322
reynoldsa@si.edu

George Smith
Biological Science Technician
443-482-2411
smithgeo@si.edu

Darrick Sparks
Biological Science Lab Technician
443-482-2455
sparksd@si.edu

Brian Steves
Ecologist
503-725-8104
stevesb@si.edu

Ellen Wakeley
Research Staff
443-482-2396
wakeleye@si.edu

Paul Winterbauer
IT Specialist for National Ballast Information Clearinghouse
314-266-7179
winterbauerp@si.edu

Chela Zabin
Biologist
415-435-3528
zabinc@si.edu

Jenny Carney
Post Doctoral Fellow
443-482-2937
carneyk@si.edu

Kim Holzer
Post Doctoral Fellow
holzerk@si.edu

Haizea Jimenez
Post Doctoral Fellow
415-435-3528
jimenezh@si.edu

Erica Keppel
Post Doctoral Fellow
443-482-2409
keppele@si.edu

Katrina Lohan
Post Doctoral Fellow
202-633-0550
lohank@si.edu

Jim Muirhead
Post Doctoral Fellow
443-482-2450
muirheadj@si.edu

Danielle Verna
Graduate Fellow
vernad@si.edu

Back to top


Microbial Ecology

Cynthia Gilmour
Ecologist
443-482-2498
gilmourc@si.edu

James Tyler Bell
Physical Science Technician
443-482-2489
belljt@si.edu

Ally Bullock
Physical Science Technician
443-482-2348
bullocka@si.edu

Back to top


Molecular Ecology

Melissa McCormick
Plant Ecologist
443-482-2433
mccormickm@si.edu

Back to top


Nutrient Lab

Thomas Jordan
Ecologist
443-482-2209
jordanth@si.edu

Joe Miklas
Physical Science Technician
443-482-2420
miklasj@si.edu

Carey Pelc
Research Staff
443-482-2404
pelcc@si.edu

Back to top


Nutritional Ecology

Olav Oftedal
Emeritus Scientist
443-482-2236
oftedalo@si.edu

Back to top


Photobiology & Solar Radiation

Patrick Neale
Photobiologist
443-482-2285
nealep@si.edu

William Brinley
Electronics Engineer
443-482-2430
brinleyw@si.edu

Back to top


Phytoplankton Ecology Lab

Charles Gallegos
Emeritus Scientist
443-482-2240
gallegosc@si.edu

Back to top


Plant Ecology

Dennis Whigham
Senior Research Plant Ecologist
443-482-2226
whighamd@si.edu

Eliza McFarland
Research Staff
443-482-2357
mcfarlandl@si.edu

Jay O'Neill
Head Biological Science Technician
443-482-2417
oneillj@si.edu

Yu Zhang
Visiting Scientist


Back to top


Protistan Ecology Lab

D.Wayne Coats
Emeritus Scientist
443-482-2271
coatsw@si.edu

Back to top


Quantitative Ecology

Sean McMahon
Ecologist
443-482-2262
mcmahons@si.edu

Chris Reily
Research Staff


Jessica Shue
Head Biological Science Technician
443-482-2458
shuej@si.edu

Cory Merow
Post Doctoral Fellow


Back to top


Terrestrial Ecology

John Parker
Ecologist
443-482-2221
parkerj@si.edu

Back to top


Trace Metal Biogeochem

Denise Butera
Head Physical Sciences Technician
443-482-2272
buterad@si.edu

Alyssa McBurney
Research Staff
4434822264
mcburneya@si.edu

Back to top