People


Senior Scientist (PI)


Patrick Megonigal
Curriculum Vitae
Deputy Director, Biogeochemist
My research concerns carbon biogeochemisty with an emphasis on belowground processes in wetlands. I am currently studying the effects of elevated CO2 on plant productivity, soil carbon storage, and methane emissions. In addition, I am studying a variety of plant-microbe interactions including the contribution of root exudates to the metabolism of methane-producing microbes and the role of rhizosphere iron-oxidizing bacteria to a root-associated wetland iron cycle.
443-482-2346
megonigalp@si.edu



Research Staff


James Duls
Head Hydrologic Technician
443-482-2276
dulsj@si.edu

  Andrew Peresta
Biological Science Technician
perestaa@si.edu


Gary Peresta
Environmental Engineer
410-867-3589
perestag@si.edu

  William Teasley
Research Staff
teasleyw@si.edu



Post Doctoral Fellow


Blanca Bernal
Post Doctoral Fellow
Research Focus: Biogeochemical processes in wetland soils, and how they are influenced by invasive plants and global change.
443-482-2355
bernalb@si.edu


Sunghyun Kim
Curriculum Vitae
Post Doctoral Fellow
Research Focus: The response of microbial communities to biogeochemical cycles in wetlands
skim@si.edu


Meng Lu
Curriculum Vitae
Post Doctoral Fellow
443-482-2475
lum@si.edu



Graduate Fellow

  Justin Meschter
Graduate Fellow
meschterj@si.edu

  Lisa Schile
Graduate Fellow
443 482 2245
schilel@si.edu



Graduate Student

  Scott Pitz
Graduate Student
pitzs@si.edu